How to Use Close Friends Instagram

How to use Instagram's Close Friends feature

When it comes to followers or Instagram followers, most people think that more is better. While increasing follower counts can result in increased likes and higher engagement rates, large numbers of followers often encounter less intimate interactions.

In 2022, to give users the ability to post with more privacy and engage with smaller groups, Instagram launched a Story curation feature called Close friend.

Also read: How to Create a Pixar Filter on Instagram (Cartoon 3D Style filter)

Close Friends Instagram Features it is used to easily communicate with their inner circle or provide exclusive content to their most active followers.

In this article, safepedia will cover everything you need to know about how to use Instagram’s Close Friends feature.

  • How to use Instagram’s Close Friends feature
  • How to make a Close Friends list on Instagram
  • How do I add or remove Close Friends?
  • How to post Stories only for your Close Friends

How to use Instagram’s Close Friends feature

How to use Instagram-1's Close Friends feature

Instagram Close Friends is a feature that lets you create subsections of followers that are given special permission to view private Stories. When you post a Story and select this feature, only the account that you choose to be on the Close Friends list can see it.

Close Friends on Instagram is a great way to communicate with a specific group of followers instead of posting to your entire list or hiding more private photos that you post from people you don’t know well. Whether you are sharing Stories with your personal inner circle or a VIP fan of your page, using this feature is quite easy.

How to make a Close Friends list on Instagram

  1. Here’s how to create a Close Friends list on Instagram:
  2. Open the Instagram app.
  3. Navigate to your profile by pressing the profile picture icon at the bottom right of the screen.
  4. Tap the three horizontal lines at the top right of the page.
  5. Select Close Friends.
  6. From there, scroll to your followers and select Add to indicate the account you want to add to your Close Friends list.

You must have at least one account on your Close Friends list to be able to post stories.

How do I add or remove Close Friends?

Here’s how to add or remove people from your Close Friends list:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Navigate to your profile by pressing the profile picture icon at the bottom right of the screen.
  3. Tap the three horizontal lines at the top right of the page.
  4. Select Close Friends.
  5. Press Add or Remove next to the account you want to add or remove.

Also read: How to Turn Off Message Requests on Instagram

How to post Stories only for your Close Friends

Now that your list is created and curated, here’s how to post Stories to your Close Friends:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Press the Story Camera button at the top left of the screen.
  3. Create or upload your Story.
  4. Select the Close Friend option at the bottom of the screen.
  5. Close Friends Stories appear in the Stories feed as a green circle around the user’s profile icon, not a pink circle. It will also be accessible on your profile by tapping on your profile picture.
How to use Instagram-2's Close Friends feature

People who are not in your Close Friends list will not be able to see your Close Friends Story and will not see the green circle. Those who can see it will see a “Close Friends” label at the top right of the screen.

Same as Ordinary story, Close Friends Stories are only visible for 24 hours. Both private and public accounts can use this feature.

FAQ About Instagram’s Close Friends Features

How does Instagram determine your Close Friends?

Instagram does not select your Close Friends list. You yourself have to add and remove people manually in Close Friends settings in the IG app.

How do you know if you are on someone’s Close Friends list on Instagram?

If you’re on someone’s Close Friends list, you’ll see their Close Friends story when they post it, either in their Stories feed or on their profile. Close Friends Stories are indicated by a green circle surrounding their profile picture instead of a pink circle.

Can you remove yourself from someone’s Close Friends list on Instagram?

You can’t. You can ask the person to remove you from their list, mute their Story, or block the account.

Does Instagram notify someone when you remove them from your Close Friends list?

People are not notified when you add or remove them from your Close Friends list.

That’s the tutorial on how to use Instagram’s Close Friends feature. I hope this article helped you! Thank you for visiting and don’t forget if you find this article useful, please share it with your friends too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.