How to Use the See Once Feature on Whatsapp

How to Use Whatsapp's One View Feature

Recently Whatsapp launched a new feature called “See Once” for all beta users from now on. Mark Zuckerberg has revealed some of the new features that will be coming to this instant messaging app, and now the View Once feature is out for beta Android users. This new feature allows users to send photos in a more privacy-friendly way.

Previously Whatsapp faced dire circumstances when it changed its privacy policy last year and gave users the choice of giving their consent or leaving the platform altogether. This caused millions of people to leave the platform and forced Whatsapp to delay changing its privacy policy.

Whatsapp now seems to be trying to get its users back by introducing new features to Whatsapp. The latest beta version of the app includes the ability to send disappearing photos and videos which will be automatically restricted after being viewed once by the recipient.

This WA View Once feature is the same as Signal’s disappearing message feature where as soon as the recipient opens the photo and leaves the chat, the photo disappears. In Whatsapp, the same thing happens, when a user sends a video or photo, this media can only be seen once by the recipient.

Also read: How to use Signal’s Disappearing feature

If you are interested and curious about this feature, here is a step by step guide on how to use “See Once” on WhatsApp.

How to Use Whatsapp’s One View Feature

  1. Download and install Whatsapp latest version or compatible with your phone, then navigate to the chat where you want to send a photo or video “See Once” on Whatsapp. Tap the icon “Camera” in the lower right corner of your screen.
  2. Now click on the photo by tapping on the shutter button or holding down the button if you want to record a video. Once done, the media will be saved automatically and you will be presented with an editing screen.
  3. Tap the icon “1” in the lower right corner. It will activate “See Once” for the current photo or video.
  4. You can now swipe up on the screen to add a filter to your photo or use the options in the top right corner to edit your media or overlay it with elements.
  5. Once you are done editing, tap on the icon “Send” in the lower right corner of your screen.
  6. And that’s it! Clicked media be it photos or videos will now be sent as “See Once” in Whatsapp for the recipient.
How to Use Whatsapp's One Time View Feature-1

This new feature also works in Whatsapp groups. Each group member can view the media once and the sender can also see who opened the media.

All users who have read receipts disabled will not be able to see when View Once photos are opened. However, the sender may see that the user has opened the Photo sent by them. Even the blocked users in your contact list can see the pictures if you are in the same group.

Also read: How to Add Friends on WhatsApp Using a QR code

Things you should know about “See Once” media

As with every new feature in Whatsapp, there are a few things and loopholes that you should keep in mind before you start using the feature “See Once” for media files inside Whatsapp.

  • deactivate “Read Receipt” and send media “See Once” will allow the recipient to still view the media once, but you will not be notified when the media has been opened by the recipient.
  • However, in groups, disabling read receipts has no effect because every time the media “See Once” is opened by the user, you will be notified regardless of the current read receipt status.
  • Whatsapp does not notify you when a screenshot is taken. With this, the recipient can save the media file “See Once” no limits. Whatsapp has no screenshot detection feature and no news whether it will be included in the future.
  • The View Once feature works regardless of the recipient’s Whatsapp version or if this feature is enabled or disabled.

That’s a tutorial on how to use the “See Once“Whatsapp. I hope this article helps you! Thank you for visiting and don’t forget if you find this article useful, please share it with your friends too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.